If you are already on the Indonesia Project mailing List, you will receive an email when the registration form goes up on the website. Please email if you would like to be added to the list.

Indonesia Update Conference 2014

The Yudhoyono years: An assessment

19 – 20 September 2014

VENUE: Coombs Lecture Theatre, H C Coombs Building, No. 9 Cnr Fellows
Road and Garran Road, The Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200

OUTLINE: In 2014, the Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono presidency draws to a close after 10 years, marking a watershed in Indonesian history. Yudhoyono was not only the first directly elected Indonesian president; he was also the first to be democratically re-elected. The 2014 Indonesia Update will evaluate the achievements and failings of the Yudhoyono presidency, the role of Yudhoyono the man, and the evolution of the major political forces and institutions he presided over. What is the legacy that President Yudhoyono leaves behind? Has Indonesian democracy consolidated, stagnated, or weakened during his decade in power?

The conference will bring together experts on politics, social and cultural affairs, the economy, decentralisation, law, the environment, women's affairs, military politics, and other key areas, to assess the impact of Yudhoyono's presidency on Indonesia's development. In combination, these evaluations will weigh Yudhoyono's legacy within a broader historical and international context, comparing his contributions with those made by Indonesian presidents before him and by political leaders of post-authoritarian states at similar stages of democratic development.

The conference is free of charge.

Conference Convenors

Ed Aspinall
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

Marcus Mietzner
ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

Dirk Tomsa
La Trobe University

Conference Administrator
Indonesia Project
The Arndt-Corden Department of Economics
Crawford School of Public Policy
The Australian National University
Canberra ACT 0200
Phone: 61 2 6125 3794
Fax: 61 2 6125 3700

Updated:  23 March 2015/ Responsible Officer:  Department Administrator/ Page Contact:  CAP Web Team