Thursday 6 September 2012
Event Type Forum
Title 2012 Pacific Update: Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste, Fiji, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Samoa and Tonga
Speakers Various speakers from the Pacific Islands
Venue Molonglo Theatre Level 2, JG Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, ANU
Date 6/9/12
Time 1:45 pm - 4:15 pm
Description The Pacific is in a period of flux with new governments and uncertain economic times. A stellar cast of leading Pacific thinkers and policy makers will debate and discuss the latest economic and political developments in the region. Come and listen to two ministers of finance, two central bank governors, two heads of major civil society organisations, a leading economic adviser, and a top economist from the region.

What challenges face the new governments of Timor and PNG? How robust is the Solomon Islands' recent high growth? How can Fiji escape economic stagnation? Is Vanuatu on the way back to the high growth it experienced prior to the global financial crisis? What can Tonga do in the face of declining remittances and tourism? How much of a risk is Samoa's large fiscal deficit? The panelists will also address regional issues, such as prospects for the PACER Plus trade agreement, and the role of aid and migration.

The 2012 Pacific Update will consist of three panel discussions; on PNG and Timor-Leste; Vanuatu, Tonga and Samoa; and on Solomon Islands and Fiji. There will be ample time for Q & A.

Panel members include:

> Bart Philemon, Fomer Minister for the Public Service, Papua New Guinea
> Nikunj Soni, Chair of the Board and Executive Director, Pacific Institute of Public Policy (PiPP)
> Odo Tevi, Governor of the Reserve Bank, Vanuatu
> Siosi (Joyce) C. Mafi, Governor of the National Reserve Bank, Tonga
> Biman Prasad, University of the South Pacific, Fiji
> Rick Hounipwela, Minister of Finance and Treasury, Solomon Islands
> Serena Sasingian, Executive Director, 'The Voice', PNG
> Kolone Vaai, Co-Managing Director, KVA Consult Ltd, Samoa

This forum is presented by the Development Policy Centre at the Crawford School of Public Policy at The Australian National University.

» view flyer (PDF, 188kB)
» Session 1: Bart Philemon, Serena Sasingian, Nikunj Soni
» Session 2: Odo Tevi, Siosi (Joyce) C. Mafi, Kolone Vaai
» Session 3: Rick Hounipwela, Biman Chand Prasad
Enquiries Amelia Bidgood
6125 1224
Add to Outlook calendar
Add to iCal calendar
Add to Google calendar
Go to Top


Updated:  2 December 2015/ Responsible Officer:  Crawford School Marketing/ Page Contact:  CAP Web Team