This PRP will draw on international comparative studies and analyses based on the ‘Intergenerational Report’ to explore and identify the roles of business, skills and education, workplace reforms and innovation, both public and private, in enhancing Australia’s long-term economic productivity.

This program aims to contribute to:

  • enhancing policy thinking through international comparative studies on productivity;
  • future analytical work conducted by the Australian Government in support of the Treasury’s Intergenerational Report;
  • emerging perspectives of the role and importance of innovation in both the private and public sectors, and;
  • identifying the role of business, skills and education, and other relevant social policy and workplace reforms that will influence long term productivity.

Program Leader:

Christopher Vas

Christopher Vas

Chris has been working on the issues of productivity and innovation for many years. His work entails conducting research, multi-sector engagement with government, business and academia, and significant outreach activities with national and international partners.

Chris has been a visiting researcher at the Ash Centre of Democratic Governance and Innovation at the Harvard Kennedy School, Stanford University and University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Chris also leads the Policy Futures program at the HC Coombs Policy Forum.

Visiting Fellow:

Dean Parham

Dean Parham

Dean Parham is an expert on Australia’s productivity performance. He led the Productivity Commission’s ‘flagship’ program of research on Australia’s productivity performance for over 10 years (until 2008). This research investigated productivity trends and the policy-relevant factors that help and hinder improved productivity performance in the Australian economy. Dean has continued to work in the productivity field since leaving the Commission, with appointments at the Australian Treasury, the University of Adelaide, the Bureau of Resource and Energy Economics and as a Visiting Researcher back at the Productivity Commission.


Updated:  19 February 2015/ Responsible Officer:  Crawford School Marketing/ Page Contact:  CAP Web Team