The future public servant: insights from Canada

Crawford School of Public Policy

Event details


Date & time

Tuesday 20 February 2018


Canberry/Springbank Room, Level 1, JG Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, ANU


Patrick Borbey, President, Canadian Public Service Commission; Professor Helen Sullivan, Director, Crawford School, ANU; The Hon John Lloyd PSM, Commissioner, Australian Public Service Commission; and Jenet Connell, Deputy Commissioner, Australia Public Service Commission.

Canada faces similar challenges to Australia in ensuring that the public service is fit for the future. The President of the Public Service Commission of Canada, Patrick Borbey, will provide a keynote address with insights into how the Canadian public service is adapting and the future reform priorities that lie ahead. This will be followed by a conversation with the Australian Public Service Commissioner, the Hon John Lloyd PSM and the Deputy Commissioner, Jenet Connell, regarding the roles and capabilities of the ‘future public servant’. The event will be chaired by Professor Helen Sullivan FIPAA (Director of the Crawford School of Public Policy) and IPAA ACT Council member.

Patrick Borbey was appointed President of the Public Service Commission in May 2017. Prior to that, he was Associate Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage since July 2014, where he oversaw the departmental mandate for Sport Canada, and worked closely with the National Capital Commission and the six National Museums. Patrick has held a number of positions of significant responsibility, including as President of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency (CanNor); Chair of the Senior Arctic Officials; Chair of the Arctic Council; Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of Treaties and Aboriginal Government; Assistant Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs; Assistant Deputy Minister of Corporate Services at both the Privy Council Office and Health Canada; and Associate Assistant Deputy Minister of the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch at Health Canada.

This event is presented by Crawford School of Public Policy, at The Australian National University and the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA).


  • 4pm arrivals for a 4.15pm start
  • 5.15pm formalities conclude for canapes and networking
  • 5.45pm event concludes

Cost: Corporate and individual members - Free Non-members - $100

Please note: all APS departments, the ACT Government, and a number of large agencies are current corporate members of IPAA. A complete list of corporate members is available here.

Updated:  18 August 2019/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team