2018 China Update conference

Crawford School of Public Policy | ANU College of Asia & the Pacific

Event details


Date & time

Friday 20 July 2018


Molonglo Theatre, Level 2, JG Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, ANU


Ross Garnaut (University of Melbourne); Nicholas Lardy (PIIE); Peter Drysdale (ANU);Justin Lin (Peking University); Dwight Perkins (Harvard University); Yiping Huang (Peking University); Xiaolu Wang (NERI); Ligang Song (ANU); Xin Meng (ANU) and many more


Dr Elizabeth Buchanan

Over the years, the China Update has cemented its status as Australia’s premier forum for in-depth discussion and analysis of the Chinese economy.This year, the China Economy Program will present the 18th annual China Update where leading academics, policymakers and government representatives discuss the latest research on the Chinese economy.

The 2018 China Update will coincide with the the launch of the 2018 book publication - China’s 40 years of reform and development: 1978-2018. The book is published by ANU Press and is available free online from Thursday 19 July 2018.

2018 marks forty-years of reform and development in China (1978-2018). This commemorative book assembles some of the world’s most prominent scholars on the Chinese economy to reflect on what has been achieved resulting from the economic reform programs, and to draw out the key lessons which have been learned by the model of growth and development in China over the preceding four decades.

The book explores what has happened in the transformation of the Chinese economy in the past forty-years for China itself as well as for the rest of the world and discusses the implications of what will happen next in the context of China’s new reform agenda. Focusing on the long-term development strategy amid various old and new challenges which face the economy, this book sets the scene for what the world can expect in China’s fifth decade of reform and development.


Professor Ross Garnaut, University of Melbourne.
Professor Dwight Perkins, Harvard University.
Professor Nicholas Lardy, Peterson Institute for International Economics.
Professor Yiping Huang, Peking University.
Professor Xiaobo Zhang, Peking University.

Updated:  25 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team