Crawford researchers join ASSA ranks

27 September 2018

Related research centres

Two outstanding Crawford School researchers have been elected as Fellows to the Academy of the Social Sciences (ASSA) for their exceptional research contributions.

Professor Renee Fry-McKibbin and Professor Peter Whiteford will be formally inducted into the Academy at the General Meeting and Annual Symposium in Canberra from 12-14 November 2018.

“The scholars elected here to Fellowship have each made contributions of excellence, as recognised by their peers in an exhaustive electoral process. The diversity of that Fellowship is also a strength, being 53 per cent female and including leading practitioners and indigenous scholars,” said Professor Glenn Withers AO, President of the ASSA, on Wednesday.

The researchers join a significant number of Academy Fellows from the Crawford School, including Professor John Hewson AM and Professor Jenny Corbett.

Professor Renee Fry-McKibbin is an economics expert at the Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis and has published widely in the area of financial market and macro-econometrics.

Professor Peter Whiteford is social policy expert who works on child poverty, family assistance policies, and welfare reform, particularly ways of supporting the balance between work and family life.

Filed under:

Updated:  23 July 2019/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team