Crawford economist wins prestigious Asian award

18 December 2014

More information

Peter Drysdale is Emeritus Professor of Economics and the Head of the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research and East Asia Forum at Crawford School of Public Policy. He is widely recognised as the leading intellectual architect of APEC.

You might also like

Crawford School’s Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale has won the 2014 Asia Cosmopolitan Prize for his contribution to Asian economic cooperation and development in East Asia.

The Award will be presented at a ceremony in Nara, Japan, presided over by the Governor of Nara, Shogo Arai, on Sunday 21 December. The award commemorates the 1300-year anniversary of Nara, described as one of the great cosmopolitan cities of its time and a final destination of the old Silk Road. Nara is sister-city to Canberra.

The Asia Cosmopolitan Award is a prestigious award made each year to individuals and organisations that have made a distinguished contribution to ‘the development and enrichment of the East Asian community’.

Professor Drysdale is recipient of the Economics and Social Science Prize in 2014 together with Professor Wang Gungwu, formerly Director of what is now the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific. Former Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is recipient of the Grand General Prize. Cambodian filmmaker Rithy Panh is recipient of the Cultural Prize together with the Takarazuka Theatrical Revue Company. Former recipients include Supachai Panitchpakdi, director general of UNCTAD, Professor Benedict Anderson of Cornell University and manga artist Takehiko Inoue.

“The Award is a huge and very special honour,” said Professor Drysdale. “I am delighted to receive it in recognition of the support and commitment by colleagues and friends all over Asia to cooperation among the peoples of our region.”

Professor Drysdale received the Japan Foundation Prize for his contribution to the development of the Australia-Japan relationship and regional cooperation earlier this year. He is widely acknowledged as the leading intellectual architect of APEC. He was founding head of the Australia-Japan Research Centre and is known internationally for his work on East Asian and Pacific economic cooperation and the East Asian economies. He is recipient of the Asia Pacific Prize, the Weary Dunlop Award, the Japanese Order of the Rising Sun with Gold Rays and Neck Ribbon, the Australian Centenary Medal and he is a Member of the Order of Australia, and an Honorary Doctor of Letters, from ANU.

He is presently Head of East Asia Forum, the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research (EABER) and the South Asia Bureau of Economic Research (SABER). In 2011-12, he served on the Advisory and Cabinet Committee of the Australian Government’s White Paper on Australia’s in the Asian Century and as a member of the Strategic Advisory Board for implementation of the White Paper. He is editor of the East Asia Forum where he writes a weekly editorial on Asian affairs.

Filed under:

Updated:  25 October 2020/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team