Australia Day Honours for Stanton

26 January 2017

Crawford School’s Associate Professor David Stanton has been recognised in the 2017 Australia Day Honours.

Associate Professor Stanton has been appointed a Member in the General Division (AM) in recognition of his distinguished service to public administration, to social policy development, and to academia.

He has been teaching Masters students at Crawford School for 12 years, following a long and distinguished career in the public service.

“I’ve very much enjoyed the opportunity to teach after a long period in government and research organisations,” Associate Professor Stanton said. “I believe I’ve been able to help students understand the process of social policy and policy implementation.

“These sorts of rewards usually reflect teamwork, and I’ve been supported by a terrific team of talented people at Crawford and across ANU. Social policy is spread right across the University.

“I’m appreciative of the support from ANU. It is a wonderful University.”

Crawford School Director Professor Helen Sullivan congratulated Associate Professor Stanton and said the recognition was well deserved.

“On behalf of the school I offer sincere congratulations to David. It’s wonderful to see Crawford staff recognised in this manner, and the richly deserved award recognises the amazing work he has put in over the years. Congratulations David.”

Associate Professor Stanton was one of a number of ANU staff and alumni regonised in the Honours. Emeritus Professor Larry Sitsky, of the ANU School of Music, was appointed an Officer (AO) in the Order of Australia, while Professor Jon Altman, and Clinical Associate Professor Stephen Bradshaw, were appointed Members in the General Division (AM).

Among the high-profile alumni honoured on Australia Day were High Court Justice Stephen Gageler and Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet Secretary Dr Martin Parkinson, who were both appointed Companions (AC).

Diplomat Peter Woolcott was appointed an Officer (AO) and public health advocate Dr Michael Moore appointed as a Member (AM).

Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Harding congratulated all the winners on their awards.

“To be included in the Australia Day Honours is a magnificent recognition of a lifetime of service to help make Australia a better place for all,” Professor Harding said.

“On behalf of the University, I congratulate Larry, Jon, Stephen and David for their contribution to the University, for being leaders in their respective fields and for helping to inspire the next generation of leaders.

“I also congratulate all ANU alumni and friends of the University who have been honoured on Australia Day.”

Read more about the Australia Day awards here.

Filed under:

Updated:  25 October 2020/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team