## COMPLEXITY, IMPERFECTION AND THE FUTURE OF PUBLIC POLICY THURSDAY 6 JUNE 2013

	EVENT	VENUE
SESSION I		
9.15 am	Opening remarks Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC, ANU Chancellor	Molonglo Theatre
9.25 am	Keynote address Complexity, imperfection and the future of public policy Professor Gabriele Bammer, ANU Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Dr John Hewson, Former Leader of the Federal Opposition, an economist and businessman, and Professorial Fellow, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU Chaired by Professor Tom Kompas	
10.30 – 11 am	MORNING TEA	Molonglo Foyer
SESSION II		
11 am	Designing climate policies in an uncertain world Professor Warwick McKibbin, ANU Chair in Public Policy and Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Ms Jenny Wilkinson, Head of Carbon Pricing and Markets Division, Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education Chaired by Dr Frank Jotzo, Director, Centre for Climate Economics & Policy, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU	Molonglo Theatre
12 – 1 pm	LUNCH	Molonglo Foyer
SESSION III		
1 pm	Emergency management and disaster policy Professor Stephen Dovers, ANU Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Dr Mark Matthews, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU Chaired by Ms Renée Leon, Deputy Secretary, Governance, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet	Molonglo Theatre
2 pm	Resilience and public policy Professor Quentin Grafton, ANU Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Dr Carolyn Hendriks, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU Chaired by Professor Bruce Chapman, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU	
3 – 3.30 pm	AFTERNOON TEA	Molonglo Foyer
SESSION IV		
3.30 pm	Complexity, uncertainty and public policy: A scientist's perspective Professor Ken Baldwin, ANU Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Ms Rhondda Dickson, Chief Executive, Murray-Darling Basin Authority Chaired by Professor Peter Whiteford, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU	Molonglo Theatre
4.30 pm	Coping with uncertainties and risks in energy security and lower carbon futures: The contributions of renewable energy Professor Andrew Blakers, ANU Public Policy Fellow Discussant: Dr Subho Banerjee, Deputy Secretary, Department of Resources, Energy and	
	Tourism Chaired by Professor Peter Whiteford, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU	