Professor Robert Breunig receives Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Public Policy and Outreach

Crawford staff win major awards

29 November 2017

More information

Carsten Daugbjerg is a Professor in the Crawford School of Public Policy. His field of research is comparative public policy, specialising in agricultural policy reform, trade negotiations in the WTO, public and private food standards in global trade, government interest group relations and environmental policy.

You might also like

The work of Crawford staff has been recognised in two major prize ceremonies this week, with Professor Robert Breunig, Professor Carsten Daugbjerg, Professor Frank Jotzo, Professor Rory Medcalf, and Billie Headon all winning significant awards.

Professor Breunig won the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Public Policy and Impact, which aims to recognise University staff for outstanding contributions to public policy formulation and debate, those who volunteer their experience, or facilitate valuable connections between academia and policymakers.

Professor Breunig is also the incoming Director of the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute at Crawford School, home of the Austaxpolicy blog – Australia’s leading site for analysis and discussion on tax and transfer policy.

At the same ceremony, Professor Daugbjerg won the Vice-Chancellor’s Award as a member of the Centre for European Studies’ winning team for Public Policy Impact, while Billie Headon won a Vice-Chancellor’s Award for International Recruitment and Long Service.

Professor Jotzo won an ANU Media Award for his work in ‘improving the quality of public debate’. Professor Jotzo is Deputy Director of Crawford School and the Director of the Centre for Climate Economics and Policy. He won the award at a ceremony on Tuesday 28 November, and was given the prize for his work with fellow ANU academics Andrew Blakers, Ken Baldwin, and Christian Downie for their media engagement contributing to public debate on energy issues.

Professor Jotzo is an environmental economist whose research focuses on policy-relevant aspects of climate change, energy, and broader issues of environment, development and economic reform. He is the joint Editor-in-Chief of the journal Climate Policy and was a lead author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change 5th Assessment Report.

Professor Medcalf, Head of the National Security College, won a Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence at the media awards.

“As Head of the National Security College, Rory has been instrumental in leading national discussions and debate about crucial issues on national and international security,” read his award citation.

“He has become a leading figure in national debates, most recently last week’s Foreign policy White Paper, and he is a strong advocate for fellow academics to share their thoughts and expertise.”

Crawford School Director Professor Helen Sullivan said the awards recognised the amazing work of the staff involved.

“These honours are a reflection of the important work being done by Crawford staff in a diverse range of areas, and I heartily congratulate the winners. Well done to everyone for these superb accomplishments,” she said.

Filed under:

Updated:  23 July 2024/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team