2019 China Update

Crawford School of Public Policy | Arndt-Corden Department of Economics | China Economy Program

Event details


Date & time

Friday 12 July 2019


Molonglo Theatre , Level 2, JG Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, ANU


Professor Shang-Jin Wei (Columbia University), Professor James Laurenceson (UTS) Professor Peter Drysdale (ANU), Professor Zhang Liqing (CUFE), Professor Ligang Song (ANU)


Timothy Cronin

On 12 July 2019, the China Economy Program will present the 19th annual China Update. At this annual event, leading academics, policy makers and government representatives discuss the latest research on the Chinese economy. Over the years, the China Update has cemented its status as Australia’s premier forum for in-depth discussion and analysis of the Chinese economy.

The 2019 China Update will coincide with the launch of the Chinese economic transformation: views from young economists, edited by Ligang Song, Yixiao Zhou, and Luke Hurst. The book is published by ANU Press and is available free online from Thursday 11 July 2018.

This year’s event includes a keynote address from Columbia University’s Professor and former Chief Economist for the Asia Development Bank, Shang-Jin Wei, an expert panel chaired by ANU Professor Peter Drysdale on the ongoing impact of the US-China trade dispute, and a closing panel discussion on the outlook of the Chinese economy chaired by ANU Professor Ligang Song.

In a series of sessions over the day, rising stars in the study of the Chinese economy will join established experts to explore topics as diverse as financial reform, new sources of economic growth, labour issues, and the economic role of the state vs. the market in China.

Speakers include: Professor Liqing Zhang (Central University of Finance and Economics), Dr Sherry Tao Kong (Peking University), Dr Jiao Wang (University of Melbourne), Dr Jane Golley (ANU), Dr Yu Sheng (Peking University), Dr Luke Hurst (Asialink Business), Dr Xiao He (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences), Dr Yixiao Zhou (ANU), Chen Chen (BHP), Dr Laura Guiying Wu (Nanyang Technological University), Dr Wang Yongjie (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences), Dr Zhang Yan (Central University of Finance and Economics), Dr Gou Qin (Central University of Finance and Economics), with more participants to be announced.

You can find the full program in the downloads tab.

Updated:  2 December 2023/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team