COVID-19

Sadli Lecture 2024

Crawford School of Public Policy

Event details

Public Lecture

Date & time

Wednesday 08 May 2024
12.00pm–3.00pm

Venue

Hybrid

Speaker

Professor Kunal Sen, UNU-WIDER, Helsinki and Global Development Institute, University of Manchester, UK

18th Sadli Lecture - 8 May 2024

The 18th Sadli Lecture will be held on Wednesday 8 May 2024, 09:00-12:00 WIB/12:00-15:00 AEST at the Auditorium University of Indonesia, Depok and zoom (hybrid). Professor Kunal Sen will present the paper: Broken Ladders? Labour Market Inequality in Indonesia and India. The paper will discuss the nature of the job ladder in Indonesia and compare it to India, examining the differences in formal and informal work between the two countries.

This event is convened by the ANU Indonesia Project and the Institute for Economic and Social Research (Universitas Indonesia), and supported by the United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research and Bank Mandiri Indonesia. The event will be held in English. Indonesian language interpretation and Indonesian sign language interpretation will be available.

Register to join via Zoom here

Register to attend in-person (Universitas Indonesia, Depok) here

Program

09:00 – 09:30 WIB/12:00-12:30 AEST Registration

09:30 WIB/12:30 AEST Opening remarks by Dr Firman Witoelar (ANU Indonesia Project)

09:40 WIB/12:40 AEST Keynote remarks by Dr Teguh Dartanto (Dean, FEB UI)

09:55 WIB/12:55 AEST Lecture: Broken Ladders? Labour Market Inequality in Indonesia and India by Professor Kunal Sen (UNU-WIDER)

10:40 WIB/13:40 AEST Discussion by Dr Maria Monica Wihardja (ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute) and Dr I Dewa Gede Karma Wisana (Lembaga Demografi FEB UI)

11:10 WIB/14:10 AEST Question & answer session

12:00 WIB/15:00 AEST Close of event

About the Sadli Lecture

Since 2007, the Institute for Economic and Social Research (Universitas Indonesia) and the Indonesia Project (The Australian National University) have jointly organized the annual Sadli Lecture series to broaden understanding and stimulate debate among students, academics and policy makers of the key economic policy challenges faced by Indonesia. It is named in honour of the late Professor Mohammad Sadli who was one of Indonesia’s most influential policy maker and economist during his lifetime. The annual Lecture is based on a commissioned paper on Indonesia in comparative economic perspective for the Bulletin of Indonesian Economic Studies.

This year’s lecture

As globalization and technological advancements reshape the contours of economies worldwide, understanding the nuances of labour market structures becomes paramount. In this year’s lecture, Professor Kunal Sen presents his research titled Broken Ladders? Labour Market Inequality in Indonesia and India. This lecture offers insights gleaned from a rigorous examination of the labour landscapes of these two nations. This research examines the nature of labour market inequality in Indonesia and India, using a common conceptual approach, drawing from the Job Ladder framework. Further details of the abstract will be shared shortly.

About Professor Kunal Sen

Kunal Sen is Director of the United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research (UNU – WIDER) in Helsinki, Finland, since 2019. He is also professor of development economics at the University of Manchester (on leave) and Research Fellow at IZA Institute of Labour Economics (Germany). Professor Sen is a leading international expert on the political economy of growth and development. He has performed extensive research on international finance, the political economy determinants of inclusive growth, the dynamics of poverty, social exclusion, female labour force participation, and the informal sector in developing economies. His research has focused on India, East Asia, and sub-Saharan Africa. He received his PhD in economics from Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (USA). His latest publications include The Job Ladder: Transforming Informal Work and Livelihoods in Developing Countries (and edited volume) and Varieties of Structural Transformation Patterns, Determinants, Consequences.

For information on, and recordings of all our former Sadli Lectures, see our ANU Indonesia Project Online Archive or visit our ANU Indonesia Project website.

Updated:  25 June 2024/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team