Scholarship, public debate and public policy: ANU Public Policy Fellows

Crawford School of Public Policy

Event details


Date & time

Wednesday 18 July 2012


Molonglo Theatre, J G Crawford Building 132, Lennox Crossing, ANU


Professor Tom Kompas, Director, Crawford School of Public Policy; and various


Ms Yanhong Ouyang
On April 12, the Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University announced the creation of the Institute of Public Policy with Dr Ken Henry appointed as the inaugural Executive Chair. The Institute of Public Policy will also coordinate a Public Policy Fellows Program. The Fellows cover public policy areas ranging from environment, health, finance and economics, defence, Indigenous affairs, population and international law.

This forum will showcase a number of ANU Public Policy Fellows including:

> Professor Warwick McKibbin, ANU College of Business and Economics

> Professor Gabriele Bammer, ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment

> Professor Ken Baldwin, ANU College of Physical & Mathematical Sciences

> Professor Kim Rubenstein, ANU College of Law

> Professor Bruce Chapman, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

> Professor Peter McDonald, ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

> Professor Margaret Thornton, ANU College of Law

ANU Public Policy Fellows will present on a range of issues, including:

> Past successes and failures: lessons learnt in making public policy

> Policy futures: public policy priorities to 2020.

The event will be introduced by Professor Tom Kompas, Director, Crawford School of Public Policy and moderated by Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AO QC, Chancellor, ANU.

Special public commentators including Ms Lenore Taylor, Fairfax Media, will comment on public policy and public debate, and the audience will be invited to participate in a Q&A session.

The forum is followed by light lunch.

» Part 1 - presentation
» Part 2 - discussion
Download slides:
» McDonald [PDF: 252KiB]
» Bammer [PDF: 787KiB]
» Baldwin [PDF: 388KiB]

Updated:  24 March 2017/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team