Professor Warwick McKibbin

Crawford scholars scoop top economics prizes

26 July 2017

Crawford School experts have been recognised for their extraordinary contribution to the discipline of economics and influential ongoing work by the Economics Society of Australia (ESA).

At last week’s Australian Conference of Economists run by the ESA, Crawford staff won two significant awards. Professor Warwick McKibbin, a Public Policy Fellow at ANU and a non-resident Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution, was named as the Economics Society Distinguished Public Policy Fellow, while Dr Paul Burke won the Best Paper Award in Economic Papers.

The Distinguished Public Policy Fellow award recognises and celebrates contributions made by economists to public debate on policy issues in accordance with the ESA’s objective to encourage research and public debate. Professor McKibbin is the fourth recipient of the award and follows 2016 winner Professor Ian Harper.

Dr Burke of the Arndt-Corden Department of Economics at Crawford School won the Best Paper in Economics Papers award, while former Tax and Transfer Policy Institute post-doc Dr Christian Gillitzer picked up the Best Paper Award in the Economic Record.

Crawford School Director Professor Helen Sullivan said the awards recognised the significant contribution the winners were making to the understanding of Australian, regional and global economics.

“I’m delighted for all the winners and want to offer congratulations to them on behalf of the school,” she said.

“These awards recognise the best of the best in Australian economics. Over many years, Warwick McKibbin has been a recognised leader in his field, contributing enormously to the discipline of economics and being highly influential in public policy design and thinking. This award is richly deserved and I’m delighted to see him getting this recognition.

“My congratulations, too, to Paul Burke and Christian Gillitzer for their awards. Paul is doing important work at ACDE and is an increasingly influential voice in his field of energy and environmental economics. I’m delighted for this latest recognition of his ongoing success.”

The full list of award winners and photos from the event can be found on the ESA website.

Filed under:

Updated:  22 June 2024/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team